The Aeolian Islands

The Aeolian archipelago is a group of volcanic islands located in the crystal clear Tyrrhenian Sea, off the north-eastern coast of Sicily.

It’s an amazing tourist destination, rich in natural and artistic beauty at every turn. There are seven islands, of which Lipari is the largest, Salina the second largest, Panarea is the smallest. Filicudi and Alicudi are located in the westernmost part and are characterized by extinct volcanoes and finally Vulcano and Stromboli are active volcanoes that attract thousand of tourists each year.

The Aeolian Islands take their name from Aeolus, god of the winds, and in 2000 were given the status of World Heritage Site by Unesco for their morphology, which is considered to be a historic model in the study of volcanology worldwide.

Comments are closed.
Chatta con Federica
Ciao 👋
Come posso aiutarti?